This Is My Story: SNAP! Photography Photo Exhibition

The ten apprentices at Snap! Photography have worked tirelessly over the past six weeks to create a photo series that coincides with the Amistad Center’s exhibition “This is My Story, This is My Song: Writers, Musicians, and the Black Freedom Struggle.” The apprentices were asked to explore and capture their own story in their photography and share it with others while also learning about every detail that goes into making a great image.  Snap! Photography is a part of the Greater Hartford Arts Council’s Neighborhood Studios teen apprentice program.

With guidance from Master Teaching artist Caleb Portfolio and Studio Assistant Molly McGuire, the apprentices were able to use many different photography techniques and styles to help convey their story. Through lessons in Photoshop and dark room photography, each apprentice has developed a unique style that radiates from their photos.

Each apprentice has shared one photograph from their collection that they feel best showcases their abilities and story.

“My series is about how we are told what is right and what is wrong. In my images, the shadow represents the obedient side of myself, whereas the model is meant to represent my true self.” – Chris Healis, Windsor, CT

“My series is about how we are told what is right and what is wrong. In my images, the shadow represents the obedient side of myself, whereas the model is meant to represent my true self.” – Chris Healis, Windsor, CT

“My story is my feelings. During middle school I was bullied, and I think people didn’t see me as a person, only an image. This is how I can take my identity back.” – Cree Jenkins, Windsor, CT

“My story is my feelings. During middle school I was bullied, and I think people didn’t see me as a person, only an image. This is how I can take my identity back.” – Cree Jenkins, Windsor, CT

 “I am representing the idea of freedom. I started off being trapped, especially in high school. But now that I’m going to college, I like feeling free.” – Ivonne Sanchez, Newington, CT

“I am representing the idea of freedom. I started off being trapped, especially in high school. But now that I’m going to college, I like feeling free.” – Ivonne Sanchez, Newington, CT

“My series is based on track and field, and how I could relate it to obstacles in life that one has to overcome.” – Jahleah Harris, Hartford, CT

“My series is based on track and field, and how I could relate it to obstacles in life that one has to overcome.” – Jahleah Harris, Hartford, CT

“I want people to see the way I look at things and how I interpret them. I think the way I draw and use other media and incorporate them into my photography makes it stand out more. And I want people to notice that.” – James Oberhausen, Marlborough, CT

“I want people to see the way I look at things and how I interpret them. I think the way I draw and use other media and incorporate them into my photography makes it stand out more. And I want people to notice that.” – James Oberhausen, Marlborough, CT

 “I want to show what I looked like before society grabbed hold and told me what I should look like, especially when I started to wear makeup and care about what other people thought of me. My story is about me traveling through life with all these societal expectations.” - Jay Harris, Hartford, CT

“I want to show what I looked like before society grabbed hold and told me what I should look like, especially when I started to wear makeup and care about what other people thought of me. My story is about me traveling through life with all these societal expectations.” – Jay Harris, Hartford, CT

“Everyone has experienced the struggle of becoming comfortable with their own self. In my work, I took my inspiration from the Rorschach inkblot test and my interest in psychology. I was able to slowly overcome the emotional grey that comes with insecurities, changing not only how I perceived myself but everything around me.” – Keyshla Roman, Hartford, CT

“Everyone has experienced the struggle of becoming comfortable with their own self. In my work, I took my inspiration from the Rorschach inkblot test and my interest in psychology. I was able to slowly overcome the emotional grey that comes with insecurities, changing not only how I perceived myself but everything around me.” – Keyshla Roman, Hartford, CT

“Together, the shapes and yoga poses in my photographs tell a strong story. Each picture is totally unique and represents myself as a whole.” – Kyla Barry, West Hartford, CT

“Together, the shapes and yoga poses in my photographs tell a strong story. Each picture is totally unique and represents myself as a whole.” – Kyla Barry, West Hartford, CT

“My story works with the idea of not letting people around you confine you into something you don’t want to be.” – Lauren Cassot, Simsbury, CT “I can see my growth as a photographer; being able to affect my audience with at least one of my pictures is one of the best things that I got out of the program. In my series, I express my feeling of containment that my ADHD medication creates, and my ability to break that barrier.” – Logan Lovett, Hartford, CT

"I can see my growth as a photographer; being able to affect my audience with at least one of my pictures is one of the best things that I got out of the program. In my series, I express my feeling of containment that my ADHD medication creates, and my ability to break that barrier.” – Logan Lovett, Hartford, CT“My story works with the idea of not letting people around you confine you into something you don’t want to be.” – Lauren Cassot, Simsbury, CT

One thought on “This Is My Story: SNAP! Photography Photo Exhibition

  1. Pingback: Behind the camera lens with the Amistad Center |

Leave a Reply

